Label Whore No More

I get it. I’m an UNWED, BLACK SINGLE mother adding to the overflowing pot of inner-city fatherless children.  I’m a statistic in every since of the connotative meaning. I am fully aware that my child has a higher chance of becoming an unproductive nuisance to society relying on welfare checks and child support from her multiple babies daddies, rather than becoming a college graduate and successful brain surgeon.

I get it.  According to this source or that one, I’ve doomed my child because I possess a magical power that makes her fail before she begins, instills insecurity and promotes promiscuity and the spread of disease mentally and physically.  How dare I make the choice to bring another bastard into this world?  How dare I fail her by giving her half of a life and half of a dream?

I get it.  The scarlet letter resting permanently on my lapel so everyone knows to silently judge and label me accordingly.  Do you get it?  What you believe you will become. I’ve never been a fan of labels.  I’ve never believed that my child is at a disadvantage.  I work, cook, clean, kiss boo-boos, wipe tears, attend recitals, do homework, read bedtime stories and much more.  There is no difference between “plain mom” and me accept the label that precedes us.  SINGLE MOTHER. UNWED MOTHER. BLACK MOTHER.

To whom it may concern, I’d greatly appreciate if the next time you reference my life and tell me everything I am not and everything that my child will never become, you at least do me the honor of referring to me as just Mom.  I believe I have earned this title fair and square. No other label is needed.

Image

2 thoughts on “Label Whore No More

Thoughts? Do Share...

