Can I Instagram that heaux?

I always struggle with how much to reveal about my life on social media.  As a mom, I feel like I have a social responsibility to be appropriate at all (photographed) moments.  On the other hand, as a fun, single lady I’m always tempted to show people what I’m really up to*inset evil laugh*.  I confess, as a viewer I am prone to judge.  I judge moms who post entirely too many pictures of their kid(s).  Yes I said it!  I don’t need to see your child daily.  Get over it!  On the flip side, I judge moms that are turning up nightly.  Pause-where is your child?  Then I don’t want to Beyoncé it and post shadows or props eluding to the fact that there’s a mini me floating around somewhere; I mean I’m just not that famous or important to the masses.

So, in a digital world, were social profiles determine your marketability, how should I brand my “mom” self? What message am I trying to convey?  Which side is my “best side” (as I will always want to photograph my selfies from that angle)?  I can’t be the only person with this dilemma, can I?  I want my Vines to be witty and fun, my Instagrams to be artsy yet relatable and my Facebook/Twitter rants to evoke an uproar of unsolicited feedback.

I think the real issue here is that I may be overthinking it.  Even though I judge, don’t judge me.  Maybe I just need to have fun, isn’t that the founding rule of social media anyway? 

Thoughts? Do Share...

